Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with Chocolate Avocado Frosting

I think it’s safe to say at this point that if I manage to get ONE blog post in per month I am doing pretty well.  How have you all been?!  I hope this monthly post finds you well.

I have been pretty productive lately, but unfortunately, not much of my energy has been going into The Paisley Kitchen.  And you know what?  That’s okay.  I used to feel guilty because I LOVE sharing recipes and fun facts I’ve come across on my journey….and I WANT to post regularly.  I REALLY DO.  There isn’t a day that doesn’t go by that I don’t think “Hmmmm, I would love to share this online!”  However, I have been spreading myself pretty thin when it comes to work, side projects, home things, and business planning.  It feels GOOD though, to really be projecting my energy into areas I hope grow into the future!

Even though The Paisley Kitchen has lost its weekly consistency, that doesn’t mean I can’t touch base with all of you once in a while!

I have become enamored with baking.  Like, I really love it.  I really think that a year ago I posted that I HATED IT, and that cooking made so much more sense to me.  Well, we live and learn, right?  And we grow, right?  So I take all the shade I threw at baking in the past back.

As my ideas for a business continue to evolve, I have definitely considered adding Alternative Baking into the mix at some point.  Pinterest is FULL of recipes that are low sugar, oil free, carb free, veggie-full, and so much more.  I never realized how versatile baking can truly be.  I always looked at it from the camp of “DO NOT DEVIATE FROM THE RECIPE” but now, I’m mixing and matching and adding and subtracting and I feel like Walter White and Jessie Pinkman.

Today I wanted to take some time to share with you my newest attempt at Chocolate Zucchini Muffins with Chocolate Avocado Frosting.  Think, zucchini bread plus cocoa powder.  IF I would have had cocao powder on hand, I would have substituted BUT I didn’t.  There were two separate recipes that I decided to combine to make a cupcake-esque type of deal….AND I’VE NEVER MADE CUPCAKES BEFORE.  Very daring.  So, suffice it to say, these are EASY and pretty much fool-proof (plus delicious).  I hope you enjoy them as much as everyone else has!!!!

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with Chocolate Avocado Frosting

What You Will Need:

Muffin/Cupcakes:  eatdrinklove.com

    • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
    • 3/4 cup coconut flour ***My sub
    • 2/3 cup sugar
    • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
    • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
    • 1/4 cup sunflower seed oil ***My sub
    • 1/3 cup milk
    • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • 1 cup grated zucchini
    • 2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Chocolate Avocado Frosting: veggieprimer.com

  • 2 med/large ripe avocados (2 ½ small avocados), peeled and pitted
  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil (melted coconut oil will give you a silkier texture, but un-melted works okay too)
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease a muffin tin.
  2. Mix together all of the DRY ingredients for the muffins in a large bowl.
  3. Mix all of the WET ingredients for the muffins together in another bowl.
  4. Slowly add the WET to the DRY and mix until JUST combined.
  5. Fold in the zucchini and chocolate chips last.  Be careful not to over mix!  ***My power went out at this point, and I had to refrigerate my muffin mix overnight.  They turned out a bit denser than I would have liked due to cooling it I believe.)
  6. Fill your muffin molds about half way with the mix and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  7. While your muffins are cooking, use a food processor to blend your avocados until VERY smooth.  Like, just keep going with the food processor.  You want a silky texture.
  8. Add in the other ingredients (cocoa powder last!) and blend until fully combined.
  9. Remove your muffins from the oven when finished and let them cool for about 20 minutes.
  10. Put your frosting mix in a piping bag (or use a ziploc bag and cut the corner tip off like me!) and frost those bad boys.
  11. voila!

You have delicious cupcake muffins that are full of veggies and CHOCOLATE!!!  If you follow the above links to their respective sites, you can get calorie and sugar info there!

Thanks for stopping by today, and I hope to become more consistent once again come summer here at The Paisley Kitchen.  I have a few meditation musings to share with you, more recipes, and I am completing another farm stay this summer!  See you soon!

 

2 responses to “Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with Chocolate Avocado Frosting

Leave a Reply

