Routine Resolutions

Happy Wednesday!  Hope wherever you are, you are warm and cozy.  Erie is FINALLY living up to its notorious wintry climate and I’m not complaining.  I have come to appreciate this area with its weather ups and downs and inbetweens.  Although, my car definitely needs a little more prepping.

One thing I cannot count on in Erie, however, in comparison to Pittsburgh is that there will NEVER be a snow day or 2-hour delay (most likely).  Which is fine I suppose….(not really).

I am home and nursing a HORRIBLE toothache which has lent itself space for a pretty gnarly headache to sneak in.  Not a migraine!  (Thank God).  But, I did find out today that I need to get a root canal on Friday.  Yikes.  This will be my third root canal in five years.  I always feel somewhat embarrassed when I tell people I’ve had root canals, a myriad of crowns, fillings, and braces TWICE because I feel people automatically judge your hygienic routines when you express you have sh*t teeth.  But, then I tell people I had scarlet fever as a child.  “How does that affect your teeth?” one might ask.  Well, the extremely high temperature caused by the fever in young children can adversely affect their second set of teeth coming in.  I suffered a great deal of enamel degradation which you can visibly see on some of my teeth.  Many of my front teeth are spotted or show lines in which you can see that the enamel is not as thick.  This had led to WAY TOO MANY dentist visits than I care to count or remember.  Because of my weak enamel, my teeth have always been sensitive and I can’t even use whitening agents (not that I would want to anyway) because of the pain it will put me in.  Anyways, enough about teeth….that’s not what I’m here to talk about (for today at least).

Onto ROUTINES……

My resolution is to create healthy, happy routines that will keep my optimal health, balance, and well-being in mind.  It’s not really a resolution per se, but it’s something I want to incorporate for the rest of my life.  I turn 29 next week (eep!) and thinking about how I HAD treated my body honestly can make me really sad.  I TOTALLY dropped ANY form of physical activity, ate crap foods, and just was SO out of tune with my body and mind.  Being so close to 30 now I realize if I would have kept some shape of routine or healthy habits, I wouldn’t need to piece together these areas of my health at this point in my life.  I guess it’s never really too late, though, right?!  I just keep thinking about my future:  any children I have in the next few years or so will follow me by example.  If I am not creating happy and healthy routines for myself, they will not find that important either.

my-daily-routine

Below are a few ways I have begun to tweak my daily routine.  Most of my changes are happening in the morning which I have found I feel most successful and centered.  You may find you feel maximum energy in the afternoon or evening.  Those are the times I feel most lethargic and I would rather add relaxing activities into that part of my day.  It’s all about listening I suppose!

Routine Resolutions

  1. Nightly routines — I have found that in order to have a successful morning routine, you MUST have a nightly routine.  Mine includes picking out my outfit for work, lunch prep, and cleaning.  I can’t have clutter in my kitchen in the morning.  I find myself wildly trying to wash dishes in the morning while simultaneously trying to get ready for my day.  I would leave my house panicked thinking I had to clean still and then felt unprepared for work.  I do those three things NIGHTLY so I don’t fuss with it in the morning.  I also include facial massage every evening and try to use a face mask once or twice a week.  These things help me feel prepare AND relaxed when I wake up in the morning.
  2. Morning routines — Below is a picture of some basic workouts and activities I have begun to incorporate into my morning routine.  I first began the third week of December, actually, but then having 11 days of no work, I definitely slipped out of some of the foundation I was putting into this solid routine.  One thing I found is that your morning routine is going to start rough and most likely you will end up scrapping what you THOUGHT you could accomplish in the morning.  Here’s how I found my current routine:
    1. Don’t over plan — You may think you’ll be able to workout, meal prep, drink coffee, throw in a load of laundry, and shower ALL in one morning in theory.  Not happening.  Not only will  you need to start waking up earlier, you’re more than likely going to take a few minutes to get up and moving.  Then, you have ALL these things you want to accomplish, you’ll feel rushed, and you’ll feel like you’ve failed.  At least that’s what happened with me….So, I began waking up only 15 minutes earlier than normal to include ONE more activity into my routine.  Dry brushing and oil pulling was a good place to start.  I could get up, get right into the bathroom and add about 10 minutes of dry brushing while oil pulling before I got into the shower.  This helped me build the routine I have now.  Start with one thing at a time.
    2. Slowly add in new activities — Once you start increasing your time, you can add more activities.  I started with dry brushing and oil pulling and now wake up about 40 minutes earlier than I had been.  I began adding in about 15 minutes of a quick workout to continue building on this routine.  Now, I can slowly increase my workout time by waking up a tad bit earlier each week.  I don’t want to move too fast or I will not be successful.  You can see in my chart that each month I am increasing my time by 15 minutes.  I WAS waking up at 5:50 AM or 6:00 AM before and I am now at 5:20AM.  My goal is to get myself to a 5:00AM start!
    3. Time yourself — Take maybe two days to actually time each activity.  How long does it take you to shower?  Do your hair?  Make up?  Remember, get your meal prep and clothes done the night before so they don’t add into your morning routine.
    4. Eat breakfast on-the-go — This is not an option for everyone.  I get it.  But, to spend more time working out, meditating, or chipping away at that chores list you need to eat breakfast on the go.  Having smoothies pre prepped in the freezer or overnight oats is a good option for breakfast-in-a-jar options.  You can eat them when you get to work then!
    5.  
      Monday
      Tuesday
      Wednesday
      Thursday
      Friday
      Saturday
      Sunday
      January
       
      Active Time- 30mins

       

      A – Yoga
      P – Stretching
      A – Weights
      P – Inversion
      A – HIIT
      P – Yoga
      A – Weights
      P – Walk
      A – HIIT/Yoga
      P – Break
      Yoga/Walk
      HIIT/Weights
      February
       
      Active Time- 45 mins
       
      A – Weights
      P – Accu Mat
      A – HIIT
      P – Inversion
      A – Weights
      P – Yoga
      A – Yoga
      P – Accu Mat
      A – HIIT/Yoga
      P – Break
      Yoga/Walk
      HIIT/Weights
  3. Weekend routines — Weekends are my prep time.  I get all grocery shopping done (with a list included!), major cleaning, and meal prep completed.  This doesn’t sound very fun, does it?  But!  If you take just ONE half of a weekend day to get these things done and out of the way, you have already freed up your entire rest of your weekend.  Sundays are usually my errand and prep day.  I get my shopping done in the morning before the church crowd hits the stores, plan meals for the week, and prep what I can for lunches, breakfast smoothies, and dinners for the week.  I also try to have all my major cleaning done Sunday afternoon or sometimes Friday evening if I’m keeping my weekend low-key.  To make prep a little more fun, I have been choosing an alternative baked item to try while I’m doing my prep.  I’ve made Carrot Cake Cookies with no sugar, Breakfast Muffins, and a few other yummy goodies to increase my baking repertoire  and make prep a little more interesting.

Routines don’t have to be boring, but they SHOULD be self-serving and healthy.  I have cut out listening to the morning news every day as I felt that negatively was affecting my mindset for the rest of the day.  It’s not that I don’t care or don’t want to know, I would just rather spend my mornings positively prepping myself for a successful day.

Routines can also change just like anything else.  Try switching it up monthly but stay consistent for that month.  Having more of a schedule has definitely helped me feel more grounded.

positive thoughts

Next week Mike and I are doing a juice cleanse together which I can’t wait to share the details on.  I haven’t posted a recipe in a while and would love to get one up here ASAP!  I also plan on sharing some of my top favorite blogs for healthy recipes for differing diets, and I would like to have that up this weekend.

Have an awesome rest of your week and stay warm out there.  ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

