The Power of Coconut Oil.

I have been a little MIA lately even though I’ve had a lot I’ve wanted to post about.  Honestly, sometimes it’s really difficult for me to post about what can seem like very small daily routines, habits, and food choices when I see everything that is happening in the world.  This is by no means going to be a rant post, but sometimes I think before I want to post, “Does it truly matter if I do this when there’s SO much happening?”  This year has been a very intense one for ALL of humanity, and sometimes I need to just step back and off of the internet.  I am hopeful that people are ready for change and I am hopeful we will see more compassion this next year coming.

But, I really have been wanting to post about Coconut Oil again for sometime.  I have a PowerHouse Purchase post featuring this miracle food already, but I’ve been using it in different ways over the last month or so and wanted to share!

I, admittedly, have never been much of a baker.  It never really interested me to be honest.  I liked cooking so much more because you can tweak a recipe to your needs and flavor choices.  However, I’ve been choosing alternative baking recipes to cut out flour, sugar, or animal products depending on what I’m trying to make.

Coconut oil is great for your digestion, skin, teeth, gum health, and a myriad of other things you can find here.  I recently added oil pulling to my routine which I have been wanting to do for some time.  You can read up on the benefits here and this little infographic is helpful, too!  My teeth have definitely been getting whiter, and I currently have a (basically) dead tooth I can’t have worked on until December 22nd because of my probationary period for my benefits….You can bet I’ve been counting down the days!!!  So, my mouth care routine has been amped up a bit.

oilpulling

I also staring having tea in the morning with a spoonful of honey AND coconut oil stirred in.  This helps calm my stomach and prep it for the day.  I deal with GERD, so coconut oil really helps alleviate my symptoms when they’re present.

IMG_3322

So, this baking thing.  I’m really starting to like it!  I recently made a spin on a Holiday Fruit Cake.  I had no idea the history behind it and that people either love them or LOATHE them at Christmas time.  I decided to try out a recipe and make it to my taste and it is HONESTLY one of the best baked goods I’ve ever made!  The recipe will be posted at the bottom.  Make this cake for your neighbors or next get together and I’m sure it will be a hit.

Coconut oil is also PERFECT for mixing up skin care products.  I make and sell body and face scrubs using this awesome oil.  You can find a ton of home made holiday gifts you can whip up using coconut oil, salts, sugars, and essential oils on Pinterest.

IMG_3341

Hope you find the information linked above helpful and enjoy this yummy cake!!!

Alternative Holiday Fruit Cake:

IMG_3347

What You Will Need:

  • 1/2 cup almond meal, packed firm
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup of melted coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons of all purpose flour, or coconut flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts of your choice, I used walnuts
  • 2 apples, cored, skinned, diced
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • whole nuts for decorating (optional)
  • greased pie plate for baking

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees and grease you pie plate.
  2. Mix all the wet ingredients in a large bowl until combined.
  3. Mix all of your dry ingredients in a medium bowl.
  4. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.
  5. Fold in your fruits and veggies.
  6. Fill your pie plate and bake for 40-50 minutes or until the top is golden brown and a tooth pick comes out clean.

IMG_3345

I like to let this sit for about 20 minutes and then refrigerate it.  Dipping it in tea is AMAZING!

IMG_3350

Hope your holiday prep is going well, and I’m hoping to share some Gifts in a Jar ideas soon as well as gift baskets to put together for your favorite foodie.

5 responses to “The Power of Coconut Oil.

  1. This looks insanely delicious! I bought almond meal recently and can’t wait to try it with this recipe. Your photography is so lovely and I’m so glad I just discovered your blog. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

