Portobello Mushroom Personal Pizzas.

I just found out I CANNOT for the life of me spell “portobello.”  It still looks wrong…my I googled it and this is the spelling I guess even though spell check says it’s wrong…? **Edit:  I’ve googled multiple ways to spell this word and google says they’re all correct…seriously, how do you spell it?  I know I’ve used it before and I probably have been spelling it 5 million different ways.

Anyways…I’ve got a nasty cold….yes, yes no amount of Emergen-C kept me from getting this thing. So, I stayed home to get all the sleep that I didn’t get last night tossing and turning and using the bathroom.  Speaking of poop….I did an enema today after watching a few videos on women claiming that enemas can help relieve the symptoms of colds amongst other things.  I will be posting more on enemas in an up-coming blog post so if you’re interested in poop (or my poop) stay tuned and see how it has helped me with a few different things.

So, I’m sitting all snuggled up on the couch post-enema and epsom salt/essential bath and I AM feeling a bit better all in all.  I also used a pumpkin sugar face scrub I whipped up yesterday which is actually available for order through Siren’s Song Bath Scrubs.   Recovery is on its way…..

On Tuesday of this week I made my way to my very first Vegan/Vegetarian Society meet up at the Mad Mex in Erie, PA.  It was nice to mingle with others who have already transitioned into that lifestyle as I’ve been considering it for some time.  Food and its effects on my body has been something that has really permeated all aspects of my life for the last few years.  I’ve spent countless hours researching, reading, and talking to others (including my doctors) about what I should be consuming for optimal health.  My plan is to be fully transitioned into veganism before but no later than 30 years old.  It is going to take patience, understanding, and some strong will to fully make the switch.  It is CRAZY how culturally ingrained many foods are into our lifestyles and how much we truly don’t need them.  I think about this Thanksgiving and what will I actually be able to eat?  I think about how my eating ultimately affects Mike who also eats the same meals.  Luckily, Mike has been talking with me about how he is supportive and he is very open to trying to new foods and making the full transition with me at home.

Becoming a vegan not only resonates with me because of animals and how they are treated but I also look at it from an environmental perspective.  If you’ve seen documentaries like Cowspiracy or Food INC, you know what I’m talking about.  I always pride myself on using as little chemicals as I can in body care products, never wasting food in my house, and being as environmentally aware as I can be with my personal choices….yet, I still eat meat.  I won’t bore you with the statistics, charts and graphs but I will point you in the direction of those two documentaries if you need a place to start.

I am a cheese lover, a honey lover, and a sour cream lover.  These are things I will slowly need to remove from my diet as I find alternatives that fit my liking and lifestyle as I go down this path.  Hope you’re ready for lots of info on that!  :snickering:

Anyways, let’s ACTUALLY talk food now.  These Portable Portobello Personal Pizzas are PERFECT!  (Say that ten times fast).  Not only is this easy, but it serves as a comfort food and is surprisingly healthy.  Be careful with the sauces you choose as they can add a lot of sugar!  The portabella mushroom have the beautiful meaty texture that serves as the “dough” and the toppings can really be up to you!  Below is my own personal preferences (had enough P’s yet?).

Portobello Mushroom Personal Pizzas:

What You Will Need:

  • 6 portobello mushroom caps, washed thoroughly
  • 1/2 cup of pizza sauce (or sauce of choice to reduce sugar)
  • 1/2 green pepper, cut into long strips
  • 1/2 can of black olives, sliced
  • 1/2 cup of grape tomatoes, cut in half
  • a few mushrooms cut/sliced
  • 1/2 red pepper, long strips
  • garlic to your liking
  • *optional* pepperoni for your Mike
  • 1/2 cup of shredded cheese of choice
  • any herb seasonings (I used basil, oregano, salt, pepper, and thyme)
  • spray oil (I use organic olive)

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  While doing this, wash your portabellas (or however you spell it) very well.
  2. Place the mushrooms onto an olive sprayed baking sheet.  Spray each mushroom with the underside facing up.  Sprinkle and herb mix of your choice and garlic onto them.
  3. Bake the caps with NO TOPPINGS for 5 minutes.
  4. Now, spoon your pizza sauce onto the caps.
  5. Put your cheese on each mushroom cap.
  6. Place your toppings on top and bake for an additional 20 minutes.

photo 2 (22)

Voila!  You’ve got a healthy spin on pizza night!

Hope you’re all having a great week and feeling a lot better than me.  Tomorrow I’ll be sharing some gemstone meditation with you and how I use my gemstones to help with energy and promoting healing.  See ya later!

4 responses to “Portobello Mushroom Personal Pizzas.

  1. I love Portobello mushrooms because they don’t really taste like a mushroom because of the meaty texture they have. I love your blog!

    Also, I have a little something for your cute dog so let me know when you will be visiting your parents next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

