PowerHouse Purchase: Tahini.

It’s Monday!  Hope you all survived the first day back to a full work week ahead….I know I barely did.  Nasty colds have been running rampant through my school so it’s Emergen-C, tea, and vitamin time in our household.

Yesterday Mike and I got our Halloween pumpkins (!!!!!!!!!!), and we carved them up, dug out the squishy goodness, and scooped out those yummy seeds.  I plan on posting an “all things pumpkin” entry in the next two weeks.  Needless to say, I was busy in the kitchen yesterday cooking, cleaning, baking, and getting our Halloween gear up for our ZOMBIE PARTY this weekend!  I even will be using the ultimate fall food that trumps all others in one of my recipes in the “all that is pumpkin” post:  Spiced Pumpkin Coffee.  Not only will it smell autumn-like and divine, it is going to be oh so heavenly for your skin!

While I was destroying my kitchen, I mean, enjoying every minute in there….I whipped up some of my very first EVER hummus.  Hummus is something I pick up at the grocery store EVERY week, and EVERY week I’m spending $3-5 on the smooth, delicious spread.  I was always against purchasing Tahini because, to me, it was too pricey.  And, you can’t really make authentic hummus without it.  So, I just never did….

….until Saturday.  I splurged and bought some.  I immediately ran to my food processor to whip up a batch.  Wow, do I regret not buying this stuff sooner.

IMG_2526 (1)

So, what’s the big deal?  Well, I know in purchasing nut butters to buy the unhulled to get the full nutritional value out of it.  Tahini is just ground sesame seeds.  It tastes savory, rich, and a little sweet and can be used to sweetened up dishes or create a nutty, rich and dark flavor.  AND….what’s even better is there is a plethora of health benefits in cooking with tahini!  The following benefits are taken right from MindBodyGreen.com because, why reinvent the wheel??

10 health benefits of tahini:
  1. It’s rich in minerals such as phosphorus, lecithin, magnesium, potassium and iron.
  2. It’s a good source of Methionine, which aids in liver detoxification.
  3. It’s one of the best sources of calcium out there.
  4. It’s high in vitamin E and vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5 and B15.
  5. Helps to promote healthy cell growth.
  6. Prevent anemia.
  7. Helps to maintain healthy skin and muscle tone.
  8. It has 20% complete protein, making it a higher protein source than most nuts.
  9. It’s easy for your body to digest because of its high alkaline mineral content, which is great for assisting in weight loss.
  10. It is high in unsaturated fat (good fat!)
Some great ways to include this amazing food in your daily diet include:
  • Make a salad dressing with tahini, olive oil, apple cider vinegar and fresh turmeric
  • Mix it into a stir-fry
  • Mash it up with some avocado like in this recipe
  • Blend it with some garlic and chickpeas to make a delicious hummus
  • If you feel like a sweeter option try making these protein balls or these cacao balls

I can’t wait to try and make a homemade salad dressing using it or whipping up a stir fry.  I regret not purchasing this sooner because honestly this is going to save me money in the long run.  Instead of buying prepackaged hummus for $3-5 every week, I now will have a jar of $9.00 tahini that will last me AT LEAST five different hummus combinations that I just need a can of $1.00 garbanzo beans to throw together in the food processor with any available ingredients I may have.  I really want to get creative these next few mixes!  For now, I will leave you with my hummus of the week which Mike and I ate in three days…..oops!

IMG_2532

Spinach & Roasted Red Pepper Hummus:

What You Will Need:

  • 1 can of organic garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 2 roasted red peppers, skin removed
  • 1 spoonful of garlic
  • 1/3 cup of tahini
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice (about 1 1/2 squeezed lemon)
  • salt and pepper to taste

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. First, set your broiler on low and broil your red peppers.  I cut each one into four large chunks, skin side facing up.  I broiled my peppers for about 6 minutes.
  2. Place the pepper pieces in a plastic bag and let them “steam” for about 15 minutes.  This helps with removing the skins.
  3. Peel the skin from the peppers.  Cut into small chunks.
  4. Add ALL your ingredients (except for a little red pepper to top) into a food processor and blend.  I blended mine for quite some time to get that smooth, creamy texture.  I also added a few spoonfuls of water after thinking I wanted it to be creamier.

And there you have it!  Be sure to check back this week to hear how my FIRST EVER vegan meet-up goes (it’s tomorrow!) and I PROMISE I’ll get on that “All Pumpkin Everything” post REAL soon!  Don’t waste a single thing of those Jack-o-lanterns!!!  Peace, people!

P.S.  I can’t figure out how to send pictures to myself from my new phone and, alas, no pics.  Hopefully I figure out this glitch soon!

Leave a Reply

