Jalapeno Popper Meatballs: An Awesome Appetizer or Meaty Meal

With the last New Moon and the shift it has brought, I find myself still moving in different directions when it comes to my job.  I interviewed the other day for a literal DREAM JOB of mine.  It is a position at my local Co Op and I would be working with others to create events and community awareness to the co op, healthy living, and better eating habits.  This would be a dream come true.  Fingers crossed!  Hope this week has brought new opportunities for you as well!

On the topic of change, The Paisley Kitchen will be changing up themes come October to celebrate its ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY!  Crazy to think it’s been one year since I started jotting down some of my recipes, routines, challenges, and thoughts in a blog to share with…….anyone.  Stay tuned for some new topics to be discussed and explored upon with this up and coming year.

*******

I am slowly but surely working meat out of my recipes.  I’ve stated before that Mike and I purchase one meat product a week to cut down on the grocery bill AND eat more vegetarian and vegan based meals.  We don’t often get ground beef but when we do I try to buy as lean as possible.  About two weeks ago I picked up some 97% lean beef and wanted to find something really fun on Pinterest.

Meatballs I feel are such a staple “All-American” meal.  This was one of my mom’s favorite dishes to make in her rotation, and I loved meatball nights….sprinkling that powdery Parmesan, inhaling the buttered noodles, slopping a bleached white piece of bread around in the sugary marinara sauce….YUM!  That sounds and feels like a million lifetimes ago.  Mike and I don’t often make meatballs, but I took to Pinterest to find some crazy meatball ideas to keep it interesting.

Alas, I found a recipe for Jalapeno Popper Meatballs.  You heard me.  An All American meal MIXED with one of the best freaking appetizers EVER.  I had to try it.  The results?  Pure food-gasm.

photo 1 (19)

Jalapeno Popper Meatballs:

What You Will Need:

  • 1 lb. of lean ground meat
  • 2 oz. cream cheese
  • 3 slices of bacon, cooked then chopped up
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 jalapenos, diced
  • 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup Mexican cheese blend
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of Taco Seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • (optional) 1 cup of cooked rice to serve
  • (optional) cilantro for garnish
  • (optional) salsa verde for dipping!

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Preheat yo oven to 350 degress.
  2. Mix ALL of the ingredients with slightly damp hands.
  3. Make golf ball shaped meatballs by rolling the mix back and forth in your hands and place the balls on your baking sheet.
  4. Bake yo balls for 20-22 minutes.
  5. Serve on top of a bed of rice with any topping you choose!
  6. Devour!

These meatballs are SO good, especially when you dip them in some salsa.  They also freeze up really well.  Meatballs even make for a cool appetizer plate if you’re entertaining.  Why not cook up a few different kinds and let your guests choose and pop them right onto their little app plate?  Sounds cute, right??

Even though these are SO delectable, I’m going to be trying really hard to avoid meat over the next few weeks.  I have been feeling very heavy after eating meats and dairy and I know it’s due to changes in my hormones and even the changes in the season.  I actually ate at one of my fave restaurants the other day and got Fall Vegetable Tacos with butternut squash, roasted brussel sprouts, and charred cauliflower and I plan to attempt it soon!  Fall is one of my favorites times to eat seasonally, so I hope to share some of my seasonal favorites with you in the next few weeks!

Speaking of feeling heavy after meals, let’s briefly talk about poop.  I seriously could talk about it all day every day, because, everyone does it, right?  Anyways, I feel that my body has not been “keeping up” with my food intake for the last month or so, and I’m breaking out the big guns…actually, just a small tube.  I’ve read a lot about enemas and I’ve touched base on them while I was talking about an easy parasite cleanse I did back in July.  Well, I’m going to attempt my first one tomorrow to share my experience here and to discuss some of the believed benefits of using enemas in your self care routine.

photo 3 (16)

Friday I will also be posting about some gemstones and the benefits I’ve been finding within them through my own use and practice.  Stay tuned because things are about to get interesting…………..:)

photo 4 (11)

Leave a Reply

