The Paisley Kitchen is BACK! <3 Summer Gazpacho and Cooking in my New Home!

Hello, everyone!!!  I am officially in Erie, Pennsylvania for the long haul.  Mike and I purchased our very first HOUSE, and we have been beyond excited and busy putting things together.  It is going to be one ongoing project but one I am very happy to work on.  I am hoping to share some cool DIY projects as we go along with all of you.

photo 1

This summer has been life-changing to say the least.  I told myself I would give myself the “traditional teacher’s summer” this year but I took on some very overwhelming challenges with my down time.  I am still waiting for my body to kind of get back on it’s normal track after completing my egg donation, undergoing the stress of buying a home, and failing to continue my healthier eating and vitamin patterns while staying with my family.  Normally, I would be self-sabotaging myself after stepping on a scale to see that I’ve put on ten pounds.  This would spark a period of self-loathing where I literally would eat, drink, and consume anything and, especially, all the wrong things.  Recurring thoughts would be, “Well, I’m already 140 pounds, I may as well just keep eating.  Who cares.”  But, it has taken every fiber of my being to stop those initial negative reactions to the scale and move towards solution-based thinking.

I am much more educated this time around on how my body reacts to certain foods and drinks, and I know now that hormones play a major role in weight loss and gain.  Well, duh, I just injected myself ten days straight with hormones that were NOT meant to be in my body.  Rather than dig myself into a deeper hole, I have begun to look into taking the proper steps to get back where I want to be.

It’s REALLY easy to get off track.  We go on vacations, we have temporary health issues, we have parties to go to and all sorts of other events and times where we feel tempted, or, almost EXEMPT from our own accountability for our health.  I have definitely used these events as excuses in my past and actually this summer!  Owning my own home with my OWN kitchen has given me back my very first tool in working on my health for the future.

To be honest, I couldn’t WAIT to get back into the kitchen to prepare food for Mike and I.  We both have our favorite recipes in rotation, and I have been searching for new ones to add to the summer line up.

The following Summer Gazpacho is actually an oldie but a goodie.  It’s my spin on the Raw Gazpacho found in Natalia Rose’s book “The Raw Food Detox Diet” and it’s super easy and delicious.  PLUS!  You can easily get the ingredients needed for next to nothing since most are currently in season (perhaps in your backyard!).  Gazpacho holds ancient roots within Spain and Portugal’s histories.  It is a cold soup made with raw veggies and usually a tomato base.  It is super cooling for these hot, muggy summer months.  Try playing around with the veggies you add into this mix to see what kind of consistencies, tastes, and textures you get.  I stuck to the recipe below and served the gazpacho with my Burrito Bowl Recipe.  Hope you enjoy!

photo 2

What You Will Need:

  • 4-5 tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced
  • 1/2 cup of fresh basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup ACV
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of garlic, minced
  • 1 yellow pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 ears of corn, kernels removed
  • cilantro to garnish
  • salt and pepper to taste

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Place your tomatoes, cucumber, ACV, olive oil, basil, and garlic in a blender.  Blend until the mixture is smooth and silky.
  2. The “meat” of your soup will be your chopped corn and yellow pepper.  Drop these pieces in and mix.
  3. Add your garnishes and spices.  Stir in.
  4. Let the soup sit for about an hour before serving so the flavors can sit and meld together.  The longer, the better!

photo 3photo 4photo 5

This is a really refreshing soup and it’s perfect for summer.  Get to harvesting and then get to mixing 🙂

Can’t wait to post more recipes and get back to the blog posts.  Hope everyone is enjoying their summers.

Leave a Reply

