Healthy Breakfast Toast Combos: Start the Day YUMMY!

It’s Wednesday and hot.  So I’m gonna stay inside and blog about food and recent Etsy purchases over on Siren’s Song Bath Scrub’s page to avoid this heat wave.

photo (17)

Check out Herbolution and their awesome shop. Read my testimonials over at Siren’s Song.

Breakfast!  It’s my favorite meal of the day.  Actually, it could be tied with dinner.  But anyways……I have tried for the past two and half years to really figure out what works best for me for breakfast.  I mean, don’t get me wrong.  I could eat French toast, eggs, and bacon every day if I had the time and it wasn’t terrible to eat refined flour and processed meats every day.  For a while I grabbed a few pieces of fruit and a KIND bar while sipping on some tea.  This past year smoothies had been my week day go-to.  I then started incorporating cold oats mixed with fruit.  I think I’ve tried just about every combo, and you know what, I can’t say one outweighs or outperforms the others.  It really comes down to how I’m feeling that particular morning.

What I like about smoothies or cold oats in mason jars is the ease of preparation.  I can have my smoothie stuff set aside in the fridge (even bagged up) and mix away, or I can fix the oats the night prior and just grab them on the way out the door.  Both of these options are great for mornings I have particular cravings like sugary donuts or syrupy French toast.

photo 1 (13)photo 3 (38)

When I have more than 5 minutes to prepare my breakfast I love dippy eggs over avocado, toasted sprout bread, cheese, and sliced fruit.  These meals are great for mornings when I feel I need something a bit denser and something that is going to hold me over for longer.

photo 2 (43)

Sprouted grain bread like Ezekiel 4:9 is my all time favorite bread.  This was a little brand I was introduced to during my stint in Raw Foodie-ism.  Sprouted breads are usually multi-grain in fashion and contain absolutely no flour or preservatives.  This puts them in the group of complex carbs rather than simple carbs (sugar), so their digestibility is increased.  In other words, your body knows what to do and how to break down a sprouted grain bread rather than the overly ground and processed white flour used in your normal white breads.  There are different thoughts on what you can mix (or ingest at the same time) with sprouted breads so do your own research and try to figure out what is best for YOUR body.  You can find these breads in the freezer section of your local health food store or the organic section of your grocer’s.

Some mornings I just want some bread!  Below are two of my FAVORITE combinations.  They keep me feeling full all morning and I resist the urge to snack (most of the time) when I have these ones for brekkie!

Ezekiel Toast with Goat Montchevre and Strawberries:

  • 1 slice Ezekiel Toast (I used 7 grain)
  • 4 sliced strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons of spreadable goat montchevre

This is a great sweet and bitter mix.  I LOVE goat’s cheese, and, once again had picked something up from the Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose.  Goat’s cheese and milk is considered to be a better choice over any other animal milk.  Those other dairy products tend to be more inflammatory and the goat’s dairy can be easily digested.  I love pairing cheese and fruit, but on top of crunchy toast….MMM!  So good.

Ezekiel Toast with Barney’s Almond Butter, Agave Bananas, and Cashews:

  • 1 slice Ezekiel Toast
  • 1 sliced banana
  • 2 tablespoons of almond butter
  • drizzle of agave
  • small handful of cashews

I love the nutty and grainy flavor and texture of this mix.  The bananas brighten up this mix, and the cashews give it a nice crunch.

photo (18)

These two mixes are a great way to spruce up your morning toast.  Breakfast is important and I think it helps us mentally prepare for the day.  Stop to take time to be grateful, reflect, or set intentions during your breakfast and that mindfulness will follow you throughout your day.  Happy Wednesday and see you back here later this week to talk about a beauty hack using Aloe!

Leave a Reply

