Boost Your Circulation and Improve Skin Tone with Dry Brushing!

Happy Friday!  I just finished my yoga and dry brushing for the morning 😉  Buddy and I are just chillin’ now sippin’ on some tea.  Hooray!  We are supposed to have NICE WEATHER this weekend.  Perfect timing for my parents’ annual Fireworks Party/Picnic.  I’m mixing up a Sangria this year and can’t wait 😉

I’ve mentioned Dry Brushing a few times in a few other posts.  Basically, dry brushing is exactly what it sounds like it should be.  You take a bristled brush and just brush your skin while it is DRY.  This technique actually dates back thousands of years in various cultures.  Practicing daily dry brushing was a routine and habit to cleanse one of the body’s most important organs to build immunity, promote lymph drainage, increase circulation, and literally, increase one’s longevity.  Our skin is our body’s largest organ and one of its biggest defenses.

Think about your body washes and lotions.  Can you pronounce most of the ingredients on the back of the bottle?  If not, those chemicals can be absorbed into your body and therefore your blood.  Ever use essential oils diluted or neat on your skin?  Those oils can be absorbed into your body and therefore enter into your blood.  Being aware of what we put ONTO our body is just as important as what we put INTO it.  Now, let’s talk about a great practice that will greatly improve the condition of your skin and have it functioning properly.

photo (13)

Dry brushing is often seen as a “luxurious” addition at spas and massage centers.  Why do we see this pop up as an “add-on” to your spa day package?  Because it gives you beautiful skin!  But, you don’t need to go to a spa for this type of treatment.  This can easily be done at home every morning before you hop in the shower.  Before we get into HOW to do it, let’s talk about WHY you should try it out.  The following bulleted list is taken from Wellness Mama because, hey, why reinvent the wheel?

  • “Lymphatic Support: The lymphatic system is a major part of the body’s immune system. It is made up of organs and lymph nodes, ducts and vessels that transport lymph throughout the body. Many of these lymph vessels run just below the skin and proponents of dry brushing claim that brushing the skin regularly helps stimulate the normal lymph flow within the body and help the body detoxify itself naturally.
  • Exfoliation: This benefit is often noticed the first time a person dry brushes. The process of running a firm, natural bristled brush over the skin helps loosen and remove dead skin cells, naturally exfoliating skin. I noticed much softer skin in the first few days and weeks after I started dry brushing and my skin has stayed soft. Dry brushing is one of the simplest and most natural ways to exfoliate skin.
  • Clean Pores: The added benefit of exfoliating the skin, is clearing oil, dirt and residue from the pores. Though it isn’t recommended to dry brush the face unless you have a special, more delicate brush, dry brushing helps improve pores on the rest of the body.
  • Cellulite Help: Though the evidence is anecdotal, I’ve found many accounts of people who claimed that regular dry brushing greatly helped their cellulite. I talked about this and my other cellulite remedies here. There isn’t much research to back the cellulite claims, but dry brushing feels great and makes skin softer, so there isn’t really any downside to trying it!
  • Increased Energy and Blood Flow: I wouldn’t recommend dry brushing at night because it tends to give me a rush of energy. One theory is that because it increases circulation, it also increases energy. Either way, dry brushing is part of my morning routine.”

Picking a dry brush can be tricky and I’ve actually bought three to finally find one that works for me.  You want to look for natural bristled brushes, and I prefer softer bristles.  Some of the firmer ones don’t feel very good at all on my very sensitive skin.  This is the one I’m currently using.  After completing my brushing, I usually look a little red, but it’s nothing a shower can’t fix.  I’ve noticed my dry, little red bumps on my arms have gone away by performing this morning routine.

You’re probably thinking, okay, where to start now?  It is important to always brush towards your heart to promote proper lymphatic drainage.  I have seen a number of different starting points in Youtube videos, but most people begin from the bottom up.  So, you may want to start with your feet and work your way up.  I think the most important thing to remember is where many lymphatic drainage points are located and to pay extra attention to these areas.  The following video explain in detail how to dry brush and how to pay mind to those little points.

Well, I hope you all have an amazing weekend and get to brushing 😉

Leave a Reply

