Back in Action with a Lunch Time Fave: Avocado Egg Salad Sammies!

Happy Hump Day!

It’s been some time since I’ve posted in The Paisley Kitchen!  Hoping everyone is enjoying their rain…er, summer…in the Northeast.  I’ve been going a little stir-crazy being trapped inside with lots of down time, but I’ve been researching and finding some cool things I want to start using in my every day life.  One new activity I’ve been really into lately is, actually, an old one!  I used to have a tumbler and I rediscovered my old gem collection last week.  Of course, I’ve taken to the internet in finding out how I can best use these stones when it comes to healing, meditation, and life in general.  Can’t wait to share more information on what I’ve found here in some upcoming posts.

I’ve also upped my home workout game and would love to share some workout charts soon.  Trying to shed those few extra pounds can be the toughest ones, and I’ve been implementing a few “target area specific” exercises I’d like to share with y’all!

Before I share one of my FAVORITE breakfast or lunch time sandwiches, I wanted to share some of my favorite posts after reflecting on my blog over the last few weeks.  Honestly, I started this to just kind of share some of my health journey with others in hopes that maybe it would resonate with anyone reading it so that they, too, could begin finding relief or experiment with their meals and habits in order to “feel whole.”  However, this has become a lot more to me than just that.

This has become a reflective timeline, recipe book, and a tool to remind me of what I need to maintain balance between my mind, body, and spirit.  I reference this little blog all the time, and it (often) helps me feel sane again.  It is easy to BEGIN to make positive changes, but it can be difficult to MAINTAIN.  Everyone can slip up, get out of routines, take unintentional breaks from being fully aware or present, and getting back on the horse can be a challenge.  I definitely have my ups and downs like any other human being, and when I’m feeling stuck in a rut, I like to reference some of my past posts.

So, gettin’ back into IT, here are some of my favorite posts to go back and take a second (third, fourth, fifth, zillionth) look at.

Reflection:

Number 5:

These Veggie Enchiladas are such an easy, low hassle meal and they actually freeze really well.  Make up a whole pan and it will last you for some time!  Plus, there’s a little dessert recipe thrown in here, too!

photo 2 (7)

Number 4:

Quinoa Chili!  What is there NOT to love?  Like, for real???

photo 5 (8)

Number 3:

One of my favorite posts talks about Switching Up Your Hair Products:  Bottles to Bars.  Going “bottleless” was a little scary at first, but making the switch makes a lot of sense when it comes to a person’s health, community, and environment.  Shampoo and conditioner bars reduce our waste and limit the amount of chemicals we expose ourselves to while cleaning our body.

photo 2 (54)

Number 2:

I still references this Spiced Red Lentil Soup ALL THE TIME.  You would think I have it down, but, NO.  Plus, throw in some Turmeric and you’re totally boosting your digestion and helping to detoxify.

photo 4 (32)

Number 1:

Self Love/Resolutions:  This is one I reference a lot when it comes to clearing my mental state, or, resetting.  Like I had mentioned at the beginning of this post, it can be easy to fall off the horse and get a little out of our routines, but getting back ON THE HORSE is more important and it’s MOST IMPORTANT if we just remember that WE CAN.  Body perception can be altered by our society, social life, and unhealthy thought patterns.  What matters the most is that we remain present, let these feelings pass, and recognize that any changes can and WILL happen if you are positive and work at it.  Bodies are confusing and finding what works best for you to feel your optimal self takes time, work, patience, and compassion….especially when you’re talking about your own.  

*********************

Okay….now that I’ve reminisced….Time for a new recipe!!!!  This is a simple (so simple!) Avocado Egg Salad.  Now, avocados brown, right?  So, I would make up a batch and eat probably two in one day if I’m the only one partaking, OR mix it up and have it for the fam one morning.  This keeps for about a day with an air tight container.

Avocado Egg Salad:

What You Will Need:  (serves 4-5)

  • 3-4 hardboiled eggs, chopped
  • 2 ripe avocados (they need to be squishy!!)
  • handful of scallions, chopped
  • handful of cilantro, chopped
  • pinch of salt, pepper, and oregano
  • 4-5 English muffins
  • handful of chopped spinach (for serving)

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Chop your ingredients.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, scoop your avocados and hardboiled eggs and mix together.
  3. Mix in your cilantro and scallions.
  4. Mix in your seasonings.
  5. Place your mix on an English Muffin (toasted if you’d like), and top with chopped spinach.
  6. Sprinkle a little hot sauce for an extra KICK!
photo (12)

Follow on Instagram @the.paisley.kitchen for more recipe updates!

See?  Easy-peasy.  These are great to grab instead of the MickyD’s egg muffins plus they are super filling.

I hope everyone is enjoying the summer, and I can’t wait to share more with you on this ongoing journey of health and well-being!  🙂

Leave a Reply

