Raw Cabbage & Kale Tacos with “Ceviche” Salsa: Breaking the Fast.

Hey!

So I just finished my juice fast on Monday evening.  Sometimes if we don’t prep our bodies enough or break our fast properly we can be left feeling a little “under the weather.”  I have to say, my fast was overall pretty easy this time around with the DIY Blue Print Juice Cleanse I found, but the two days after left me feeling pretty under the weather.  I know this is just because my body was “passing” some really gnarly stuff.  In a nutshell, here’s what went down.

Day 1, Saturday:  On Saturday I didn’t even get to the grocery store until about 1PM so my six juices were not as space out as they should have been.  I got most of my produce at Aldi’s to be honest, but organic produce is always highly recommended when doing a cleanse.  If you’re juicing on a budget like me, be sure you have a veggie and fruit wash and thoroughly rinse and wash your produce.  I was feeling really energetic after the first two juices and somewhat euphoric.  My boyfriend described his senses as if he had just become inebriated, but I describe it as feeling a little “spacey” or “clouded.”  I meditated for about 30 minutes after my second juice and played it pretty low key all day.  LOTS OF WATER!!!

photo 1 (10)

Day 2, Sunday:  Sunday I slept in and felt great.  My stomach had not growled at all, and I didn’t find myself craving food.  I had worried about the second day because I felt I didn’t do the greatest prep.  Although, I did find myself pinning a million recipes on Pinterest later in the afternoon.  At about 5:00 PM, my body literally felt like it was just going to sleep.  I felt very tired out and I hadn’t done much but clean and meditate all day.  As I meditated and thought, I really was noticing the times of day I was most likely turning to food for comfort.  Thinking about my triggers and how I handle them really puts things into perspective.  I had been battling a headache two days prior to the cleanse and I felt it resurfacing Sunday evening.

Day 3, Monday:  I started my day with a spinach smoothie and prepared four of the six juices.  I was drinking lots of water to curb moments of hunger or temptation.  At work, the sweets are never ending so I avoided any situation that may make me feel like I may slip.  I kept thinking about my raw tacos for later in the day.  One of the best feelings is preparing your own “break” fast food and enjoying it after!

photo 2 (9)

Cleansing is so much more than a physical reboot for me.  It is much more of a mental “reboot” for me to look within and reevaluate.  It takes strength, will power, and determination to put your body through this in order to feel refreshed and energetic again.  We are programmed to think that we need to eat these three big meals a day loaded with cheeses, milk, processed meats, and sugary additions.  We don’t NEED any of that.  It is so hard to break away from the normal daily routine of those three meals, but when you do, you get a clearer picture of what you’re putting into your body and what you’re doing to it.  Now, it’s all about sticking with this clean eating for me.  It can be hard though.

I would love to get my body prepped for a longer interval of juice fasting, but I also need to build up the confidence mentally first.  My first step in this is trying to eat mainly raw, fresh, vegan labeled meals.  More to come on that soon.

So I was ecstatic to get home Monday evening and make these raw tacos I found at The First Mess on Pinterest.  I tweaked the recipe a bit.  These tacos are so fresh and filling that I may not go back to my regular quesadillas!  (maybe…)  Try them out for yourself!  These are perfect for munching on the back porch with this warmer weather abound.

Raw Cabbage & Kale Tacos:

What You Will Need:

Ceviche (sans fish) Salsa:

  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 cobs of corn, corn removed
  • 1/2 of a red onion, diced
  • juice of lime
  • juice of lemon
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • scallions, chopped

Spicy Nut Crumbles:

  • 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup of raw cashews
  • taco seasoning to taste

Cashew “Sour” Cream:

  • 1 cup of cashews, soaked in water overnight
  • juice of lemon
  • pepper
  • salt
  • splash of ACV

Taco Shells:

  • 1 head of cabbage, leaves pulled back and rinsed
  • 6 kale leaves, deveined (cut the two sides away from the stem part)
  • avocado for serving
  • cilantro for serving

What You Need To Do:

  1. Mix all of the salsa ingredients together.  Squeeze a generous amount of lemon and lime juice in.  Let sit for at least 15 minutes for flavors to meld.
  2. While waiting, take a mortar and pestal to grind the Spicy Nut Crumble ingredients into a crumby mix!  Throw in the food processor if you don’t have the aforementioned tool.
  3. In a blender, mix the Cashew Cream ingredients on high.  Splash more water in for a creamier, smoother texture.
  4. Prepare your “shells.”  Lay the kale inside of the cabbage leaves.
  5. Place salsa on the shells and garnish as desired.

photo 3 (7)

These are so simple and delicious.  This was a great way to break the fast and get back on track with my eating.

photo 4 (3)

Have a great Thursday evening, and see you later this week to catch up on that facial massage info!  Thinking about making my very first YouTube video….ah!

Leave a Reply

