PowerHouse Purchase: Chia Seeds.

Hello!  Long time no talk.  Now that our school’s musical is all finished, I will have some more down time at home on the weekdays!

By the way, it was AWESOME!  The kids looked great and worked their little booties off.  Couldn’t be happier.

Spring is officially HERE although it doesn’t feel much like it in Pittsburgh.  However, the sun is shining and I have my little seeds sprouting.

This Sunday I travel to New Bethlehem, PA to do a very short farm stay at Three Cheers Farm.  It is lambing season so I will be helping out there, but I also plan on asking the farmers there about their ideas and sustainable farming practices.  I hope to have the interview up by mid-April.

Saturday Mike and I will be in East Butler to sell some Siren’s Song bath goodies at an annual spring bazaar.  We’ve got some new products like Shower Steamers and Beard Oils and they all smell heavenly!  Check out more information on that over at my sister blog, Siren’s Song Bath Scrubs.

*********

So, I’ve got some good posts lined up for this week so be sure to stick around.  Wednesday I plan on posting one of my favorite new recipe finds:  Honey & Lime Sweet Potato Tacos.  Mmmmmmmm delish.  Friday I’ll be adding an additional Natural Beauty post on some recent vegan lipstick I purchased from Etherealle on Etsy.  Their mineral lipstick is the perfect stain for your pout.

For today, I am featuring Chia Seeds which I am totally a newbie with.  Currently, I have only added them into my smoothies but they get this awesome gelatinous texture when mixed in for a bit.  Check out some of the benefits I found come along with eating these yummy seeds.

photo 3 (1)

Why You Should Own Chia Seeds:

1.)  Packed full of fiber and protein.  Chia seeds are tiny, but are packed full of all kinds of fiber and protein that keep your body regular.

2.)  Antioxidants.  Antioxidants are important in keeping a strong and healthy immune system and also keep our vital organs working at their best.  They help fight the production of free radicals that damage us on a molecular level.

3.) Omega-3 Fatty Acids.  A few of my other featured items also contain this essential nutrient, and these fats can help fight diseases like heart disease.  Ingesting our nutrients through plant-based sources is more effective than taking supplements.

Here’s a quick summary from the Autoritynutrition.com:

  • Fiber: 11 grams.
  • Protein: 4 grams.
  • Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega-3s).
  • Calcium: 18% of the RDA.
  • Manganese: 30% of the RDA.
  • Magnesium: 30% of the RDA.
  • Phosphorus: 27% of the RDA.
  • They also contain a decent amount of Zinc, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Potassium, Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and Vitamin B2.

These are a quick way to get some protein and fiber by throwing them into a smoothie, yogurt (if you’re into that), and even baked goods.

*****

I have skipped out on posting my Intention of the Week for two weeks now, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been pulling them!  I first pulled Responsibility, Birth, and today, Depth.

photo 2 (1)

I have been pulled in so many directions as of late with school work, craft shows, and searching around to see what my next life move should be.  It is interesting that I have pulled Depth this week because I really need to be looking INSIDE to find which path I should take next.

I am going to start implementing a daily meditation routine and yoga practice once again.  More to come on that.

******

I’m just trying to get back into the swing of things today!  I finally have some time to start thinking ahead yet slowing down to really concentrate on a lot.  Hope your spring is starting off well and the sun keeps shinin’ for ya!

Leave a Reply

