Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Yoga Poses for BEAUTY, and Recap.

Good morning and HAPPY MARCH!!!!  We are getting closer to spring even though I look out my window and see more snow.  I feel this winter is dragging out.  I’m ready for warmer weather and to get out and MOVE more.

If you missed anything this week, be sure to check out the post on how a vitamin regimen may be helpful, recipe with Coconut Curried Tofu, and Friday’s post on Natural Shampoo Bars and their benefits.

***********

I get sluggish in the winter.  I don’t mean to.  But, I fall into this routine of “work is taking over my life and I can’t make time to move around after because I’m so stressed and exhausted I just want to sleep” and I can’t break it.  Winter has always been hard for me.  I get in a funk and it feels never ending.  Winter is supposed to be comforting for Pittas since we are all fiery and direct.  But, I feel as though my Kapha side comes through here and I take to becoming lazy and introverted.  (***Not sure what I’m talking about?  Go to The Chopra Center to take the quiz and see what dosha you are or just read up on the three!)

The first step in regaining balance is to recognize that the environment around you has a profound influence on how you feel. Paying conscious attention to what you hear, touch, see, taste and smell can help create peace, balance and vitality in your mind and body. A harmonized daily routine that engages the five senses with nourishing impressions is one of the most important steps towards achieving Perfect Health.

So, I think I’m out of balance.  It’s time to stabilize my mental and physical health.  I’m a Pitta mostly so I should be relishing in the fact that it’s winter!  Time to embrace it I guess….

photo (26)

Adding a 15-Day cleanse in to help regain balance.

Last week I chose FLEXIBILITY.  I worked on “going with the flow” and I also worked on actual physical flexibility.  I have been trying to feel more comfortable in forward fold as I hold a lot of tension in my neck.  Today I am going to share a few yoga poses that are great for flexibility and beauty.  As for the going with the flow part, I tried but I believe my stress kind of clouded that intention…

…which leads me to this week’s Intention (this all ties together I SWEAR):  BEAUTY.  In the #honestychallenge I shared that “what I see in the mirror is not what is in the mirror.”  I have not been practicing self love in a way that is healthy lately.  My routine and stress have been seeping into my mental attitude towards myself which in turn affects others (it’s all interconnected, you know?)  So this week I offer another Instagram challenge:  Each day this week share a picture you find beautiful of yourself, others, or anything (caption isn’t necessary if you don’t want to use one) but be sure to tag #thepaisleykitchen and #beautyofitall to share some beauty during this long, cold winter.  I will be choosing two participants at the end of next week to receive two bath bombs from Siren’s Song Bath ScrubsI often lose sight of the positives and focus more on negatives when I am out of balance, so I am trying to steer away from that.

photo (25)

Today I won’t share the Intention of the Week as I have been in the past because beauty is such a subjective thing.  What I may find beautiful about a place could be totally different than what YOU see.  (But really, what color IS THAT DRESS??)  And, how I interpret BEAUTY itself can be ever changing.  I think it’s great if I can just stop, notice, and appreciate.  I want to work on that this week.

**********

Yoga Poses for Beautiful Skin:  The following poses will bring you relaxation and can help improve circulation which, ultimately, can help in improving your skin.  A daily 30 minute routine would be effective using the following poses.  Click the link that follows to see these poses explained and in action!  (I clam no rights to the photos 🙂 all are borrowed)

670px-Do-the--Shoulder-Stand--Yoga-Position-Step-6-Version-2

Shoulder Stand

Plough-pose-Halasana

Plough Pose

Triangle_Pose-Brigid

Triangle Pose

CamelPose

Camel Pose *To modify, bend back and place your hands on your lower back and tuck chin towards chest.

Cobra-pose-Bhujangasana5

Cobra Pose

Click here to see these poses in action.

Today I rambled, yes, I know.  But, I hope you participate in the Instagram challenge with me this week to spread beautiful images that may inspire and evoke joy.  Much love and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

