Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Chewy Sugar Cookies, and Recap.

Good Sunday afternoon to you, folks!  It is currently 35 degrees in Pittsburgh, and my body thinks it’s, like, SUMMER.  Weird how our bodies adjust, huh?  If you missed anything from The Paisley Kitchen this week or just never left your warm bed due to the arctic temps (I mean, I don’t blame you), here’s what you can check out:  Turmeric is THE most POWERHouse Purchase to be featured yet, a Frozen Banana “Ice Cream” Recipe, and my journey into making the full NATURAL switch into natural hair and body care.  Check out the post on how Turmeric is helping to whiten my teeth and how an ACV rinse may be a great idea to improve the health of your hair.

************

Last week I pulled the intention Honesty.  I hosted an online #honestychallenge for those who wanted a safe and supportive “space” to share truths about themselves.  Thanks to everyone who participated, and if you would like to check out the challenge simply go to the bottom of this page to check out my Instagram account.

Being honest doesn’t just mean to not lie.  Being honest also means listening to your inner voice to see if that serves you.  Our subconscious can tell us a lot throughout our day without us being fully cognizant of its words.  Sometimes, that voice can be negative, remorseful, resentful, worrisome, high strung, or unorganized.  Recognizing and acknowledging this “voice” is the first step in improving your life and mentality.  You then can take healing steps in the right direction or uncover your true intentions.

This week I pulled FLEXIBILITY.  

photo 3 (35)

What Does it Mean to Me??:

Automatically my mind thinks of this word in the physical sense:  how flexible are YOU?  How flexible am I?  But, then I take a second to really THINK, and this word means how flexible I can be in a situation.  I’ve gone back and forth thinking of myself as a Type A person and then not.  I’m sure my family would throw their hands up and say, “Renee, omg,  you are TOTALLY Type A.”  Ever since I was young, I needed to have an organized schedule.  This didn’t necessarily mean I was the most organized person, but, I liked thinking long term goals and scheduling out everything in between.  So, having always been like this, I tend to stick to a schedule and get worried or upset if things don’t go according to a plan.  I have been learning over the last few years that planning is not ALWAYS a necessity, and sometimes, you just need to listen to yourself and let things play out.

How I Will Apply It:

For the next week, I am not scheduling ANYTHING after work.  Obviously, I have the schedule and requirements of work, but after I leave there I will totally let my evening play out in whatever way it should.  If that means having a game night with friends one night instead of making a crazy big meal, I’ll do it.  There is no need to feel rushed and unrelaxed after work because of everything there is to DO.  I can just BE.

*************

I was doing a great job with my detox this week and then I got stuck in the house after making cookies….oops.  Let’s just say I over indulged in these, but I COULDN’T HELP IT BECAUSE THEY’RE SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!

I have been trying to cut out most sugar and cheese.  But, every once in a while I get in a baking mood.  Not often, but sometimes.  I have a go-to sugar cookie recipe I like to make every so often and I add my own bits of flavoring into it.  Maybe some cranberries or peanut butter chips, coconut or other little candy pieces.  I have swapped out the white flour and sugar with healthier alternatives.  Really though, I wouldn’t recommend eating cookies all of the time because cookies, in general, are NOT healthy BUT I did try to used less refined ingredients.  These are easy to make and you can easily bag them up and share them with friends or at work!

Soft Chewy Sugar Cookies:

What You Will Need:

  • 3 cups of oat flour (makes it gluten free!)
  • 1 1/2 cups of organic cane sugar or coconut sugar (I used 1 cup cane and 1/2 cup coconut)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon of alcohol-free vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of SOFTENED unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • ANY TOPPINGS to add (optional) — For this recipe (it usually makes about 2 dozen) I made one dozen with Heath for Mike and the other dozen with peanut butter chips, caramel pieces, and a teaspoon of cocoa powder

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix the wet ingredients (egg, vanilla) in a small bowl.
  3. Mix the sugar and butter together in a large bowl.
  4. Add the beaten egg and vanilla into the large bowl.
  5. In a medium bowl, mix the dry ingredients (baking soda, powder, flour) WELL.
  6. Add the dry ingredients into the large bowl of wet ingredients.  Thoroughly mix.  This recipe won’t look the same as regular sugar cookies.  It appeared “gooey-er” so I sprinkled a bit more flour in.  The TINIEST bit just so it would clump together.
  7. Split your mix into the two bowls and add different toppings!
  8. Bake for 12-14 minutes.
  9. Let them cool on a rack or on the sheet for an additional few minutes.  These are VERY soft, so moving them prematurely will result in a broken cookie 😦

photo 2 (51)photo 1 (43)

What do YOU like to add into your cookies?  Do you have a favorite cookie?  I hope you enjoy and have a nice week!

Leave a Reply

