Frozen Banana “Ice Cream:” The Paisley Kitchen’s First Dessert Post!

Ice cream is probably in my top five favorite things in all my life.  I dedicated eight glorious years of my life to the Dairy Queen corporation and loved every minute of it.  The soft serve whipped in the floppy paper cup with candy pieces, gooey brownie pieces, creamy cheesecake pieces, and juicy berries…*drool*  After eating any blizzard, cone, milkshake, or sundae I wanted to EVERY time I was working, it started catching up with me.  My stomach started getting really upset and there was a part of me that began thinking I was lactose intolerant (or that I was just binging on too much ice cream).  I started cutting it out altogether.

But, that didn’t mean I had to give it up forever!  I started getting soy ice creams, gelatos, and other alternatives.  These products weren’t always the best option though.  They still contained lots of sugar and additives that I wasn’t into.

So…why not freeze bananas and make an imitation ice cream???  Check out the following recipe for a simple ice cream substitute using just a few ingredients!

photo 4 (33)

Banana Nut Ice Cream (serves two):

What You Will Need:

  • 3 frozen bananas (about 2 hours frozen)
  • 2 tablespoons of nut butter
  • splash of almond milk or coconut milk

Really you can use ANY ingredients and play around with this mix.  Blend it all up in the blender and freeze it for about 30 minutes to hardened it up a bit.  Add any toppings you’d like.  I tossed on some shredded coconut, white chocolate chips, and pecans.

photo 1 (41) photo 2 (49) photo 3 (34)

What would you like to try in YOUR mix?

Remember!  Check out my Instagram to follow the #honestychallenge!  Keeping it real and keeping it honest.

One response to “Frozen Banana “Ice Cream:” The Paisley Kitchen’s First Dessert Post!

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Chewy Sugar Cookies, and Recap. | thepaisleykitchen·

Leave a Reply

