PowerHouse Purchase: Turmeric.

OMG IZ SO COLD!  Says everyone in the Northeast, but for real, IT IS.  My cat Buddy and I are curled up in blankets and we don’t know if it’s even worth it to walk to the kitchen on freezing hardwood floors to go get coffee.  *pause* okay, it’s worth it.

I have been reading A LOT about how the herb Turmeric can aid in digestion, detoxing, teeth whitening, preventing heart disease, calming upset tummies and heart burn, curbing joint pain, and can ward off cancerous cells in your body (I’ve read this!).  So basically Turmeric is the most powerful PowerHouse purchase of all.

One thing I love about turmeric is the color and it was actually used in dyes for thousands of years.  Turmeric use in medicinal remedies can also be traced back thousands of years in countries in Asia.  It looks similar to ginger root and is native to southeast India.

I am on a detox this week, so what better time to feature this colorful rhizome.

photo 1 (39)

**Most of the information below is borrowed from World’s Healthiest Foods.  Also, I don’t at all agree with or condone lab testing on animals in which they mention in the article 😦

Why You Should Own This Shtuff:

1.)  Turmeric is a potent (and safe) anti-inflammatory agent.  Daily ingestion of turmeric is said to reduce inflammation and the uncomfortable-ness of it in the body just as well as over the counter drugs like Motrin, but it produces no toxicity in your body.  Because of this, turmeric has been used for years in reducing joint pain and the effects that follow a diagnosis of arthritis.  Adding it into rice, quinoa, lentil, and cous cous dishes will not only add a bittery, spicy and buttery taste, it can help reduce inflammation in your body.

2.)  Turmeric provides relief to digestion issues including Chron’s and colitis.  Again, simply adding turmeric to your favorite curries and such can be enough to buy you relief in the tummy department.  It is much less expensive than purchasing pharmaceutical drugs prescribed for those with IBS and other tummy issues.  Believe me, I would rather go this route than spending money and compromising my health to find relief for my stomach…been there, done that.  Check out this site with information for a healthy tummy with the help of turmeric.  It’s a whole site on TURMERIC!

3.)  Turmeric can help…prevent cancer?  Here’s where I just can’t comprehend:  How can an added herb to my dishes help prevent cancer?  “Curcumin (urmeric) acts against transcription factors, which are like a master switch,” said lead researcher, Bharat Aggarwal. “Transcription factors regulate all the genes needed for tumors to form. When we turn them off, we shut down some genes that are involved in the growth and invasion of cancer cells.”  This is taken from World’s Healthiest foods, and if you wanted to know more about this, I would continue to read more studies and articles about it.

The information is limitless on the topic of turmeric and your health.  Do a little homework and you may be surprised….

**********

So, I read a lot about turmeric and how it can whiten your teeth.  I decided to give it a try and document with some pictures.  PLEASE NOTE:  Turmeric WILL STAIN.  I found this out the hard way by mixing my concoction with my bare hands and now my fingers, fingernails, and left hand are stained…I swear I knew better.  Just don’t be an idiot like me, okay?  Keep a WET paper towel or rag near to wipe around your mouth and your lips….because I also found this out the hard way and now my lips are kinda like an orange color……

Turmeric for Teeth Whitening:

Mix the following ingredients in a bowl and it will be enough for about 20 uses.  Find a container to keep the extra in!

  • 4 tablespoons of turmeric
  • 2 tablespoons of baking soda
  • 2.5 tablespoons of coconut oil

Mix it all together to create a paste.  Mine was a little too dry, so I could have stood to add a bit more oil.  **Use a toothbrush that you don’t care to ruin with this.  It will become stained.  Brush your teeth with the mix for about 2 minutes.  DON’T FREAK OUT.  Half way through I started thinking, “This was a bad idea, this was a bad idea,” but then got over that pretty quick.  Rinse your mouth with warm water and be sure to IMMEDIATELY wipe away any that gets on your lips or around your mouth.  The recipe is safe enough to use daily.

photo 1 (40) photo 2 (47) photo 2 (48)

Before & After

Before & After

I’m not sure I see MUCH of a difference and it’s really hard to get the exact same lighting again!  I plan on trying it every day this week and I will post another pic on Friday.

This is just a portion of the detoxing I start this week.  I have also decided to make the complete switch to natural shampoo bars and conditioner bars along with an ACV rinse this week.  More info on that to come on Friday!!!  My goal is to convert my ENTIRE beauty regimen to natural and organically derived products by the end of this year.  Feel free to follow along with me as I take this journey one step further.

photo 5 (12)

Yes, this is a picture of part of my detox regimen this week…Gotta keep that colon healthy.

**********

If you haven’t already check out my Instagram and participate in this week’s #honestychallenge.  Each day (M-F) post ANY picture with an honest statement about yourself, your goals, your relationships, ANYTHING you want to share with ANYONE or EVERYONE.  Let’s take some time to support each of our true selves.  Tag #honestychallenge #daretobehonest #thepaisleykitchen and #honestyhour.  Go to the bottom of my blog to check out the Instagram challenge! Spread the love!  Have a great Monday, folks!

5 responses to “PowerHouse Purchase: Turmeric.

  1. Pingback: 5 Holistic Blogs You Should Follow |·

  2. Pingback: Natural Hair Care and Teeth Whitening with Turmeric Update. | thepaisleykitchen·

  3. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Chewy Sugar Cookies, and Recap. | thepaisleykitchen·

  4. Pingback: Coconut Curry Tofu: Simple and Scrumptious. | thepaisleykitchen·

  5. Pingback: Happy One Year Birthday to The Paisley Kitchen <3 !!!!!!!! | thepaisleykitchen·

Leave a Reply

