Spiced Red Lentil Soup: A Hearty “Stick to Your Bones” Meal.

Yesterday I posted about the benefits of coconut milk, and I said I would be trying out a Spiced Red Lentil Soup for dinner….well, I did and it was AMAZING!

I haven’t been very good at cooking lentils.  They are either under cooked or over cooked, but I figured with a soup that needed to be pureed it would really matter.  Lentils are high in fiber, low in calories, and contain a lot of other vitamins and minerals that add to its nutritional value.  You can find more information herephoto 4 (32)photo 1 (38)

This is an insanely easy recipe that my boyfriend is already asking me to make again.

Spiced Red Lentil Soup:

I wanted to post this right away because I made a lot of changes to the original recipe that I didn’t want to forget!  I like thicker soups, and I read in the comment section of the original recipe that it was turning out too thin.  PLUS they had all of the metric measurements I had to convert.

What You Will Need:

  • 3 cups of vegetable broth
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 1/3 cups of split red lentils
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of oil
  • 3-5 tablespoons of curry paste or sauce (I used yellow curry sauce.  Use as much as you need for your spiciness liking!)
  • dill, black pepper, salt, oregano ALL to your liking.  I added quite a bit of dill and black pepper.
  • chopped scallions to garnish (optional)
  • pumpkin seeds or sunflower seeds to garnish (optional)

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan on medium heat.  Sautee the onions until translucent and soft.
  2. Add in the curry paste or sauce.  Sautee for a few more minutes.
  3. Add the dry lentils into the pan.  Toss for about 2 minutes to toast.
  4. Add your vegetable broth.  Reduce the heat and cook for 25 minutes, covered.
  5. Add in the coconut milk.  Let it cook on low for a few more minutes (5 minutes).
  6. Place your mix into a blender and puree.
  7. Pour into bowls and garnish with scallions and sunflower seeds.
photo 2 (46)

Before adding liquid.

photo 3 (33)

After adding liquid.

This recipe makes about 4-5 servings.  Mix in a bit more coconut milk if you would like it creamier or smoother.  We really loved this soup and it was perfect for a cold winter night.

Stay warm out there, folks, and cuddle up with some hot soup this week 🙂

2 responses to “Spiced Red Lentil Soup: A Hearty “Stick to Your Bones” Meal.

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Valentine’s Day Self Love, and Recap. | thepaisleykitchen·

  2. Pingback: Back in Action with a Lunch Time Fave: Avocado Egg Salad Sammies! | thepaisleykitchen·

Leave a Reply

