Avocado & Tomato Quesadilla: A CHEESE-LESS Spin on Quesadillas.

If someone told me I couldn’t eat cheese any more I would be angry.  Punching-stuff angry.  I love it and I love the variety of textures, flavors, scents, and appearances.  Getting a new block of cheese is full of surprises, and I would be sad if I had to miss those moments.  *sigh*  But, I am trying to cut down on my cheese intake for health reasons and vanity-reasons.

Ask me what my favorite food is:  It’s quesadillas.  For real, they are simple, quick, and you can mix ANYTHING into them.  Cutting back on cheese or eliminating it kinda puts a bit of a damper on my favorite meal….or so I thought!  Avocados are a great substitute for that melty-cheese texture and they have that buttery and creamy taste.  I found an AWESOME recipe last night for a simple CHEESELESS quesadilla.  I was skeptical at first, but I am now hooked and want to eat these for every dinner.  I love that I was able to throw in some ingredients that may have otherwise gone bad, too!  I hate wasting or pitching food.

This is a quick, painless, and SUPER yummy recipe if you are a fan of the quesadilla and avocados like me!

Avocado & Tomato CHEESELESS Quesadilla:

What You Will Need:

  • 1 tortilla shell of your choice (I used flour here)
  • 1 avocado, mashed
  • 1 tomato from the vine, sliced and chopped
  • 1 handful of cilantro, chopped
  • 3 stalks of scallions, chopped

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Heat a pan on medium heat.  Toss your tortilla shell on both sides to warm it up.
  2. Spread the mashed avocado onto the shell.
  3. Place all your veggies on top and fold it in half.
  4. Brown the tortilla on both sides for 2-3 minutes.
  5. Serve with a side of sour cream or salsa.

This took me, maybe, 10 minutes altogether from preparation to eating it.  Avocados are a great source of fats, and you don’t need to worry about “over indulging” in the cheese department like I do when I whip these things up.

Hope you enjoy and close out your week strong!

photo (19)

One response to “Avocado & Tomato Quesadilla: A CHEESE-LESS Spin on Quesadillas.

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Intention of the Week, Apple Cinnamon Smoothie, and Recap. | thepaisleykitchen·

Leave a Reply

