Eggplant Cutlets With Mushroom Sauce: A Cheat That Makes You Think, “Meat?”

Today is day….Oh, I don’t keep track of the days we haven’t eaten meat!  My boyfriend on the other hand does.  I have gone vegetarian before and cutting out meat is not THE most challenging thing for me to remove from my meals.  Breads and sweets are my crutches.

This past week has been CRAZY with planning a school Winter Holiday event, making up the rest of my Siren’s Song products for gifts, and decking my halls for my weekend holiday party!  I was getting kind of irritated (Uhhh, sorry Mike) with the phone calls on my way home asking, “What are we having for dinner tonight?”  I would go off about how we have veggies, rice, quinoa, soba noodles, and the list goes ON, but all I would get is the, “Eh, I dunno.”  Well, I decided to take an unprecedented turn and I dug deep into the freezer to get something I felt may appease his appetite.  Going without meat has been a little harder for my dude and I think it’s getting to him.

I opened the freezer….I reserve freezer food for the I-haven’t-gone-grocery-shopping-in-almost-two-weeks-now occasion.  I have mentioned in previous posts that I DO NOT LIKE WASTING FOOD.  My heart literally sinks when I have to throw away almost an entire bag of produce or what have you because we didn’t get through it in time (or it was forgotten!).  Anyways, I opened the freezer and found eggplant cutlets I had picked up a Trader Joe’s a few weeks back.  They looked painless to make but the downside was they were breaded AND frozen.  Automatically I know it won’t be the healthiest choice.  Sometimes we just need to compromise…..

photo 2 (31)

I decided to whip up some eggplant cutlets which kinda sorta have the same texture as meat when cooked.  I thought maybe this texture would be something that could rid him of his cravings.  Below is a simple recipe for the cutlets and a mushroom sauce to top them with.  I served ours with a side of rice and brussel sprouts for a more diverse plate.

Eggplant Cutlets Topped with Mushroom Sauce:

What You Will Need:

  • 1/2 package of eggplant cutlets, about 6 eggplant pieces
  • 1/2 cup veggie broth
  • 1/2 package of mushrooms
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 tablespoon of garlic, minced
  • pinch of oregano
  • pinch of salt & pepper

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Bake the cutlets for 10-12 minutes.
  3. Saute your mushrooms and onions in your seasoning mix and oil.
  4. Add the broth and tomato paste and let simmer to create a reduction.  The onions should become wilted and translucent.  The mushrooms will be a nice brown color.
  5. Remove the cutlets and place them on or next to rice.  Top with the sauce!
  6. (optional) Sprinkle with scallions.

photo 1 (29)photo 3 (23)photo 4 (17)

This was a really yummy and easy meal, but it wasn’t the healthiest one yet.  Eggplant can be prepared in a number of ways and takes on a lot of flavors well.  Play around with it, and the cutlets help you experiment with different toppings and seasonings.  Happy Hump Day and stop back Friday to read up the benefits of facial steams to help you get your skin ready for those upcoming holiday parties!

One response to “Eggplant Cutlets With Mushroom Sauce: A Cheat That Makes You Think, “Meat?”

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Winter Solstice, Holiday Party Ideas, and Recap. | thepaisleykitchen·

Leave a Reply

