Sunday Funday: Letting Go of EGO, Peanut Butter Banana Milk, and Recap.

Happy Sunday, all! If you missed any posts this week be sure to check out the PowerHouse Purchase of the week,  Quinoa, followed by a yummy Quinoa Chili recipe.  Ever wonder what’s lurking in your makeup?!?  Check out the post on Mineral Makeup and find the link to the EWG’s database, SkinDeep, to see how your makeup scores.  You may be surprised to see what is inside!

*******

The holidays are here and…..’Tis the Season for….mixed emotions?  I don’t know about anybody else but I can get caught up in a funk during the holidays.  I’ve posted previously on avoiding holiday stress and how I often start reflecting during this weird transition between an old year and a new one.  I am a Capricorn (Gemini in Vedic, holla!) and it is my LIFE to set goals and follow through with them….so, this time of year can be unnecessarily stressful as I reflect on what I wanted to accomplish, which is usually about a million things, and what I actually got done.  This is also a season of comparison:  who has what, who got what, who is doing what, where.  It is hard sometimes to drop the comparisons and just….Be.  Below are just some tips I’ve picked up on being YOU and letting go of the ego that often drives us to compare and to feel remorseful about truly nothing.  I’ve also included some authors and/or books to check out.

1.) Make plans if you want, but don’t have expectations.

This is, like, THE HARDEST for me.  I’ve always liked to think I am extremely adaptable and “go with the flow,” but when it comes to plans, HELL NO.  It truly hurts my feelings when plans fall through or things don’t turn out as I expected.  I have worked over the last two years to DROP THAT.  Planning keeps us prepared and secure so that is pretty unavoidable in our busy lives.  But, don’t envision or EXPECT certain things to happen during that plan.  Coming up with a future scenario and playing it out in your head is only going to get you upset if it doesn’t look just about the same as your mind’s fantasy of the situation.  Expectations almost always turn out negative rather than positive.

2.) You learn from every single person you meet.

People come and go…but they do this for a reason.  Enjoy every moment you have with someone, but holding onto past relationships just for the sake of “keeping it alive” or because you’re nostalgic doesn’t serve anyone.  People grow and change and grow apart.  We learn from the company we keep.  We just sometimes can’t keep them forever.

3.) LET GO. Especially of attachments.

This has been the hardest part of my transformation into a better ME.  We can be attached to ANYTHING:  our cars, our cellphones, our relationships, people, places, ideas, you name it, we can be attached to it.  I have been a dweller for as long as I can remember.  Then, I realized that dwelling on events of the past even if it’s just the recent past can be self sabotaging. I used to also be very attached to material possessions as well.  Two summers ago I moved out of my shared apartment and sold almost all of my furniture, donated over half of my clothes, and gave away a number of other “belongings.”  I had never experienced such a feeling of relief after completing that act.  I didn’t need those THINGS to be who I AM.  Attachments are the “manifestation of the ego,” or your false self.  I could go on and on about this one, but read the attached article from Light Workers here to understand or explore this a little more.  You can also check out The Four Agreements of living a better life with a healthier mindset.  Get the book!  It’s a beautiful read.

4.) Every person is a reflection of yourself, sometimes you may not like what you see.

We can see ourselves in just about anything if we pay attention.  This kind of goes along with the quote of “You are the company you keep.”  Our attitudes and acts of compassion (or lack thereof) attract people that have similar mindsets and beliefs.  If you are putting negativity out, you are most likely going to attract others who relish in the negativity as well.  Misery loves company….I can just keep the quotes coming, OKAY?

5.) BE HERE NOW.

ram dass

There is so much to learn NOW and HERE.

Check out anything by Thich Nhat Hanh and, of course, "Be Here Now" for some wonderful insights and thoughts.

Check out anything by Thich Nhat Hanh and, of course, “Be Here Now” for some wonderful insights and thoughts.

I have been reflecting, but I have been trying to apply the above-listed thoughts to my thinking.  The biggest thing I am working on currently is letting go of my expectations.  This past year and a half has been a smattering of different health issues all while I am trying to maintain a healthy weight.  I have ups and downs in my thoughts towards my body, but I must always remember that my expectations needn’t be harsh and I have to DETACH from this idea of what is “perfect.”  I will be my own version of perfect as long as I’m happy.  Once you’re happy, you notice a lot of other positive changes, too.

So, I am working on shedding my ego and calming that inner voice that can sometimes be harsh and nagging while amplifying the one that is only love.

********

My belly has been on the fritz again.  I came up with this concoction a few months back and it soothes in two ways:  it helps calm my stomach but at the same time it serves as a comfort food!  Try out this yummy milkshake the next time you’ve got an upset stomach.  I use almond milk to help soothe my stomach lining, nut butter adds a nice texture, and bananas are always good for that potassium boost!

Peanut Butter Banana Milk

What You Will Need:

  • 2-3 bananas
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk (or another milk of choice)
  • 1 heaping spoonful of nut butter of your choice
  • 1 heaping spoonful of organic cocoa powder

What You Need To Do:

  1. Mix in the blender and enjoy immediately!
Thin and yummy!

Thin and yummy!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and many good thoughts to you as you begin your week!

Leave a Reply

