Sunday Funday: Pom-Veg-Berry Smoothie, Decompression, and Recap.

Have you ever been in a wine coma?  That’s my Sunday so far.  Ugh.

This past week has been a bit off schedule, but check out some of the awesome posts for the week.  Looking for a yummy Buffalo inspired dinner to make for game day that won’t bust your waistline?  Check out the Buffalo Quinoa Bites recipe!  Looking to start incorporating tea into your daily diet?  There are a lot of benefits listed in the PowerHouse Purchase of the week, Herbal Teas.  Grab your favorite cup and unwind in an Herbal Bath Tea or Soak for the evening.  Let’s get ready to make this week a good one.

November 29th is an important date for me and it’s creeping up so fast!  I plan on launching my little, homemade business, Siren’s Song Bath Scrubs.  I’m not looking to make a ton of money, but I AM looking to give people options to natural alternative bath care.  I plan on selling at local craft shows, local businesses, and of course through online correspondence.  Many of these products can be tailored to your individual needs and preferences.  Check out my second blog to stay updated on all of the awesome products I’ve tested and tried personally.

***************

Let’s talk about decompressing.  My glasses of wine last night may have been to “decompress” and unwind, but it’s definitely not my go-to choice anymore.  Yoga, a hot bath, or meditating and focusing on my intentions are definitely healthier choices.  Let’s talk yoga for decompressing.

There are a number of yoga positions that naturally “wring” you out and offer a release of emotions and tensions.  Here are two that you can easily do ANYWHERE to just let some things go.

Pigeon Pose (eka pada rajakapotasana):

pigeon pose

Pigeon is a great way to open up your hips to release stress.  Did you know that we store most of our stress and negative energy in our hips?  Opening them up seriously rids you of those yucky thoughts and feelings.  This position has a number of modifications and you can hang out here for a while until you feel loose and happy.  Let’s do it!

  1. Start in down dog and thread your right foot through and over to the left.
  2. Extend your left leg back flat, top of your foot facing down.
  3. For a half pigeon like the above picture, use your hands or fingertips to ease your back up and pelvic bone down.
  4. If you feel that the left side needs supported, place a block or rolled towel under your left hip.  You don’t want this side to be strained or dipping unevenly.  Below are some modified pictures of pigeon.  The important thing is to do what feels right for your body at THAT MOMENT.  It’s not about a competition, and one day you may be able to complete the bind and a few days later you may find your body doesn’t need it.  Do what feels right for you.
  5. Repeat on the other side.

half-pigeon-eka-pada-rajakapotasanapigeon full

Sup, Cali?

Sup, Cali?

Triangle Pose (trikonasana):

Trikonasana is one of my most favorite, favorite poses for a number of reasons.  I often feel like my hips have to “slide” back into their spots.  I think this is due to my hyper extensive joints.  So, I usually get a nice click or small crack when doing this pose.  There are a lot of variations as well to this pose, most of which call for your head to face up.  I have serious neck pain and it causes tension when I look up, so always listen to your body carefully to see if you ever have to adjust your gaze.

Triangle_Pose-Brigid

  1. Start in Warrior 2.  Straighten your front leg.
  2. Use control in your tummy as you glide your front facing fingertips either down to your shin or to the floor.
  3. Your back hand comes up to the ceiling and keep it engaged!
  4. Look up if that serves you.
  5. Keep your top shoulder peeled open so your torso remains long and open.  Don’t curl into yourself.
  6. To release, engage your core and meet in Warrior 2.
  7. Repeat on the other side.
triangle

haha I love this picture because it doesn’t stress the importance of looking up if it doesn’t serve you.

triangle on the buttes

Trikonasana on the Buttes in Northern Cali.

My Sunday Smoothie for you is a recent addition.  I found this one at Perry’s Plate, a blog with paleo-friendly recipes.  Give this one a whirl!  I will tell you, the texture of this one threw me off a bit the first time, but I made sure to blend it thoroughly the second time around.

What You Will Need:

  • 3-5 frozen strawberries
  • about 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 large carrot cut up
  • about 2 handfuls of fresh baby spinach
  • about 1 cup of 100% fresh POM juice.  I get mine at Trader Joe’s for about half the price of POM brand.

What You Will Need To Do:

  1. Blend it up!

I love smoothies that incorporate veggies as well as fruit.  The fruit ones are good and have their benefits, but I worry about consuming a lot of sugar in the morning.

This image is borrowed from Perry's Plate.  Check out the awesome paleo recipes!

This image is borrowed from Perry’s Plate. Check out the awesome paleo recipes!

I hope you’re having the BEST Sunday and you feel a lot better than me!  Shout out to my mama, my great friend Carly, and my Pap who have all had birthdays the last three days!!  Love you all, and many more happy and healthy years to come.  ❤

****These statements and suggestions are in no way intended to diagnose or heal you.  Use caution when starting a new diet or participating in a new fitness regimen.  Listen to your body always!

Leave a Reply

