Sunday Funday: Bath Time Meditation, Triple-Berry Blast Smoothie, and Recap.

Wow!  Thanks to everyone who has checked out my posts so far.  It makes me happy to see.  If you haven’t checked out some of the posts, categories are listed at the bottom of the page.  The Foodies tab gives you a taste of my latest go to recipes.  Bath Goodies tab takes you to some home made body care recipes for fun projects and safe bath care options.  My PowerHouse Purchase tab will take you to a grocery item I can’t live without and recommend  EVERYONE have it, too, for a variety of health benefits.  Check out the latest PowerHouse Purchase, Coconut Oil, to see why it’s a great addition to your cooking AND beauty routine.

Sundays can be mentally tough on me.  It’s weird:  Sundays are supposed to be seen as this day of rest and relaxation, and all MY mind does is worry about what I have yet to do for weekend errands, lesson planning I need to do for the week, my obligations for the upcoming week, and at times I actually feel guilty if I do get a chance to relax.  But, on the other hand, my mind is CONSTANTLY turning over about SOMETHING.

My mom said I was “fire” when I was young.  All hot headed, talkative, moving, and cranky especially when I didn’t get my way.  I couldn’t keep still.  In later years I came to have my Vedic Astrology chart read and my chart is FULL of fire.  There are pros to being on the go and strong willed, but, let me tell you, it’s exhausting.  I also found out in Aryuvedic medicine and theory my dosha is a pitta-kapha.  I am fire and earth.  So what does a mutable air sign with tons of fire do to relax???  I feel as though I didn’t have many options for a few years.  I was bouncing from one thing to the next when I was bored and I just felt unhappy.

In stress-inducing situations I would lose control of my breath really fast.  Like, my heart would begin racing within 2 minutes, I would get worked up and upset over minor things.  Something had to change.  I began to look into yoga and meditation, and I felt this was an outlet for me.  My first yoga class was just as stressful as my work situations.  I hated not knowing what to expect.  I went in all fire and stress, but at the end of the class I was asleep in shavasana on my mat.  I was hooked.  I have now come to love not having expectations of my performance and really letting my intention at the beginning of practice lead me to the end.  It is just me, my breathing, and my body on that mat.

In particular, I began to crave shavasana, and some of my amazing teachers would include song, chanting, or text at the end of class.  It all resonated with me, and I knew that to feel better about many things in my life, I just had to let go.

I wanted to meditate at home, but how?!  I knew it was all about your breath and letting go, but remember, I’m all over the place all the time.  I found a really cool technique that worked when I first started that I want to share with everyone.  Even if you don’t normally meditate and don’t foresee yourself doing it on the reg, this simple and effective activity can help in reducing your stress and bring you back to you and your intentions.

Bath Time Meditation:

You know me, I love my baths!  So, fill a tub of warm water and relax with me!

  1. Get in the tub, silly.
  2. Fill it up and lay back with your ears just under the surface.  This mutes out all external input and you can TOTALLY focus on your breath.
  3. Take long inhalations counting to 5-8 counts (if you want!) and hold your breath at the top for about 3-5 counts.
  4. Exhale deeply thinking how your lungs are completely emptied.
  5. Breath in and out like this for as long as you want!

This is really relaxing, you hear me??  You can work on totally clearing your mind or focus on an intention or mantra.  Either way, you will be breathing easier after you get out of the tub.

bath

My Sundays are becoming predictable, but I like it!  I’m sitting here chilling with my laptop and black cat on top of me waiting for the coffee to brew.  These fall mornings are crisp and light, and just staring out the window feels good.  Before I go to yoga at 11:00, I like to have a smoothie to just give me some oomph in class.  Here’s a favorite of mine I’d like to share with you!

Triple-Berry Blast:

What You Will Need:

  • 1 banana
  • cup of strawberries, blackberries, and raspberries (any berries will do!)
  • 1 1/2 cups of orange juice
  • a pour of water.  I need my juice diluted for my tummy.
  • flaxseed
  • wheatgrass

3 berry

What You Need To Do:

  1. Blend!  Add more juice or water to change the consistency.

3 berry smoothie

The sweet berries and juice cover the taste of the power plant wheatgrass.  Make a lot to share with friends and family on a Sunday morning to kick start your relaxing day.

I wish you all a laid back Sunday and best wishes for a great week ahead….just don’t think about it too much today 😉

More information on Vedic Astrology and YOUR chart here:  http://www.janampatrika.com/horoscopes/birthchart.html#janampatrika.com

Leave a Reply

