Body Scrubs: A Yummy Treat for Your Bath and Bod.

Ever come home and just want to escape reality for a bit?  Well, I’m sure we all have our own ways of “escaping,” but MY WAY now is a much healthier choice than just meeting my friends for happy hour (which was basically all the time before).  I set up my bathroom as a relaxation sanctuary.  It really has become a mind-body treat for myself to regroup, slow down, and just RELAX.  I’ve come to crave a long, hot bath on particularly rough days, and one item I was indulging in was body scrubs and bath salts.  I begin to think, “There has got to be a way to do this myself.”  Enter my love of research….and BOOM!  I’m whipping up bath scrubs in no time.  The beauty of making these things on your own is you can totally control textures, scents, and the visual beauty of it and create something to your exact liking.

These little projects also led me to begin researching the benefits of different essential oils and their healing/helping properties.  I LIVE for sensory overload as I’ve mentioned before, and in researching these oils and their properties, I began to feel like this alchemist honing in on my abilities to mix scents and oils to create the most luxurious experience in my teeny tiny bathroom.  It was intense.

Whew!…I really love these oils and will have an entirely different post on why you should love them, too, so now onto the body scrubs.  You’re in for a real treat.

What You Will Need:

  • A container.  I use half pint mason jars because they are practical and pretty.  Practical in that your meseaurements are RIGHT THERE on the side (how easy??) and pretty because they make your final product look like something you picked up from a little farmer’s market or something….but you didn’t….you’re cooler than that.
  • Kosher salt
  • An oil.  Coconut oil is my personal fave but, obviously, the smell is powerful.  Grapeseed oil is another great choice because it is smooth and unscented.  Olive oil can also be used, but again the smell is strong.
  • Vitamin E oil
  • An essential oil of your choice.  A little goes A LONG WAY.  Mix a few together for blends.
  • Flower petals, lavender buds, herbs, lemon rinds, etc.  (optional) These make for a pretty final product but can be messy in the tub.

What You Need To Do:  

***I didn’t put measurements for a reason because your container may be any size.  I will use measurements in this recipe for a half pint mason jar.  Keep in mind, you want about equal parts salt to oil as you begin and depending on your desired consistency of the scrub, you may want to add more salt for a more exfoliating scrub or more oils to smooth it out.

  1. Place your container on a plate or surface you don’t mind getting oily.  I’ve ruined table cloths doing this project.
  2. Place 4 oz. of salt in the bottom of the jar.
  3. Pour 4 oz of oil on top.  The oil will begin to seep into the salt, so you may end up adding more salt to even it out.
  4. Place a few drops of essential oils (4-5 of each) into the mixture.  A great soothing blend to start?  Lavender & Lemongrass.
  5. Pour about a tablespoon of Vitamin E oil for added moisturizer.
  6. Add any dry ingredients for a picture perfect mix.
  7. Stir the mixture.  Use a spoon to turn the mixture over and kind of stab it….it works.
  8. Add a pretty label if you want, and be sure to put the date packaged somewhere on the jar!  This is important because this mix won’t last more than 6 months at most.  You really don’t want to be spreading a rancid scrub all over your body….yikes.
  9. Soak it up!  Add a couple scoops into your bath or slather it on before shaving in the shower.  I promise you’ll get the best shave ever!

step one salt scrub final

These make really cute gifts, too.  Make a ton and save them up for holiday presents.  As always, be careful when using the essential oils if you have sensitive skin like me.  Less is more with these bad boys.

Well, it’s time to grab some candles, throw on some tunes, and lay back and soak away the day.  Smell ya later, you bath beauties, you!

Leave a Reply

