Spinach Turkey Meatballs: You Can’t Eat Just a Few….

Ever since I have begun to incorporate meat into my diet again, I have absolutely fallen in love with ground turkey.  It is so versatile and easily takes on any seasoning you want to add to spice it up.

Whenever I was first having horrible migraines, I wasn’t eating a lot of meat.  When I was, however, I was devouring the wrong kinds:  pulled pork, sausage, fried, crispy chicken, and more meats that could be found in bar fare!  You can imagine how my belly would feel after these overly indulgent meals (mainly bar snacks).  I very much believe that my migraines were due to my diet, my lack of energy due to my diet, and then the anxiety my body would cause my mind.

It’s truly all interconnected!  As soon as I started even just preparing my meat in a different way, I noticed a more satisfied feeling after eating.  My meals weren’t as heavy and I didn’t have as much guilt after.  Turkey was a great addition to keep my energy levels up and to create more lean, meat oriented meals.

There is controversy over whether ground turkey is actually better for you than ground beef.  It all depends on the type of meat you purchase.  You can actually create relatively healthy meals using the ground beef but at a 90/10 ratio.  Whole foods in some locations actually sells 95/5!  But….if you are like me and have a limited budget, I was purchasing the 80/20 ground chuck.  Not the best choice.  So, my purchases now are 99% or 94% lean ground turkey.  Always look to see if it is labeled “Ground Turkey Breast” or “Extra Lean.”  These labels mean there is more white meat than the dark meat of the turkey.  The white is a much healthier option and has less fat.

This blog was almost called Dinner For My Dude because I live with my boyfriend who may not always want to eat veggie focused meals.  Turkey meat has been a great addition to our rotation because it’s satisfying and guilt free for me, and he can feel like the carnivorous male he ought to be.  (More power to him….he could literally eat meat, cheese, and hummus every day all day and still feel and look amazing.)

Below is a recipe that will surely take care of those insatiable appetites your dudes may have out there, and it will also keep you feeling good about what you’re enjoying, too!  Be sure to make A TON because you’ll want to freeze some of these babies for a quick “go-to” dinner when you may not have the time to whip something up.

meatballs

What You Will Need:

  • Baking sheet
  • Mixing bowl
  • 1 lb. ground turkey (the leanest you can get!)
  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour (almond meal works, too, if you don’t want the gluten)
  • 1/4 diced onion
  • 2 handfuls of spinach, shredded
  • 1 egg beaten
  • a pinch of garlic or celery salt
  • a pinch of oregano
  • a pinch of parsley
  • a pinch of red pepper flakes if you’re looking for heat!
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (optional) dash of oil if you’re using SUPER lean meat.  This is just so they don’t stick!
  • (optional) shredded mozzarella cheese

What You Need To Do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Mix the meat, flour, and beaten egg together.
  3. Toss in your veggies and seasonings.
  4. Roll the mixture into balls that can fit comfortably into the palm of your hand if you were to begin closing your fingers back toward your palm.
  5. Place these bad boys onto your baking sheet (three across) and toss them in the oven for 20-25 minutes depending on the amount of crispiness you’d like to add to the bottoms and pieces of spinach sticking out.
  6. Be sure your meat is cooked all the way through.
  7. DEVOUR!  We dip ours in maple honey mustard.  Heat up your favorite red sauce to top it off or throw them in with some whole grain pasta.  If you’re feeling really adventures, add them to a sub bun or whole wheat wrap.

These meatballs are an easy addition to a diet that may only incorporate meat a few times a week.  Make up a few batches to freeze for meals later in the week.  Just be sure to get your fix before your dude does or there may not be many left…..

Leave a Reply

